The Cost Is Minimal for a Transportation Agent License
Video Transcribed: This is Danna Malone, paralegal to Medical Marijuana Attorney Isaiah Brydie, where we operate OK Cannabis Law Office. We help Oklahoma medical marijuana business. So if you have any problems, just give us a call. We’ll be glad to help.
Today’s video is going to be about transportation agent licenses. A transportation agent license allows you to transport your medical marijuana products from your facility to a dispensary or a processor or to the lab.
Now, who needs a transportation agent license? Well, anyone that transports as an employee must have a transportation agent license. As for the owners, most owners are choosing to get the transportation agent license because otherwise, they would have to carry around the 8 1/2-by-11 piece of paper that comes with their business license when they make deliveries and that becomes cumbersome that the paper gets destroyed or lost, or wet if it’s raining or if you spill your drink on it.
I have a habit of that. So it’s just easier to have what looks like a regular driver’s license or the med card that you can keep in your wallet when you’re doing transporting.
It’s fairly easy to get a transportation agent license. Same rules apply. You must be at least 25. You must pass a background check. You have to present a signed affidavit of lawful presence.
No felony convictions in the last two years, no violent felony convictions in the last five years, you have to be a resident of Oklahoma. So other than that, they’re fairly easy to get and you get them pretty quick, usually within a couple of weeks.
Now, one thing that owners must do is, if your employee leaves your employ, you have 14 days to notify OMMA to cancel that license. You don’t have any choice.
That license is only good for your business. If your employee delivers for more than one business, they have to have an agent license for each business they work for. So if they leave your employ, you must, and I can’t stress this enough, you must notify OMMA and cancel that license.
Transportation agent license, the cost is minimal. $16 for a background check per license, and then $104.30 for the state fee. So it’s not a bad idea for your employees and especially the owners to have one. Do not, do not, do not, and I can’t stress this enough, do not transport without either your paper license for the owners or the transportation agent license. It’s just not going to work out well for you if you get stopped, so I can’t stress that enough.