Public Smoking, Private Fines
Video Transcribed: What are the penalties for violating the personal use requirements under State Question 820? I am Ope Adegbuyi, a medical marijuana business lawyer in Tulsa, Oklahoma.
A fine of $250 or lower will be levied for having plants in view or in public. Smoking or vaping marijuana in a public place where it’s prohibited will carry a civil fine of $25 or lower.
Law enforcement cannot detain or arrest people for smoking or vaping in public places, and landlords cannot bar tenants from using or possessing marijuana, although they can prohibit smoking marijuana in the residence. However, most of these requirements will be in the lease agreement that you sign, so once you sign that, you’re bound by that lease agreement.
Adults 21 or older who possess, produce, or transport more than twice the limits of personal use products will face civil fines of $200 or less and forfeiture of the product. Eight hours of drug education or counseling could take place instead of the fine.
For more information regarding this, you can contact me, a marijuana regulation attorney in Oklahoma, at oklahomamedicalmarijuana.attorney.